The Accidental Kitchen Gadget Designer

The latest in the brilliant but oh-too-infrequent United Tastes series at the New York Times.

How the Microplane Grater Escaped the Garage

“I didn’t set out to make cheese graters,” Mr. Grace, an engineer by education, said recently.  “I thought I was making serious woodworking tools. To see them used in the kitchen, that was frankly a personal disappointment.”

 

Well, we thank you, anyway.

 

This entry was posted in technology, web links. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Accidental Kitchen Gadget Designer

  1. feastonthecheap says:

    Wish I was an “accidental” millionaire…

  2. It was a great article to read; I would have never been able to invent the microplane because my mind does not work like theirs; they are such down-to-earth and practical people, they look at the functionality of everything; great. Why don’t they develop a pepper mill I wonder?

  3. Mary says:

    The article was fascinating. Another of those “only in America” success storyies. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  4. Robin Sue says:

    Great Article! I had no idea about their story which makes me think that I have no idea about how many of our kitchen tools came to be. Now this line cracked me up “and a device for grinding bone into paste.” The power of being able to make sharp objects! Well I cannot live without my microplane since it is the only way I can grate fresh nutmeg but maybe I will start using it in my woodworking when I really need a tight edge on my serving boards!

    You should here my other country song one liners. They involve a dog, beer, mounted deer head, and my pickup truck;-)

  5. Thanks, I’ll check it out!

    Did you ever get your coffee maker?

  6. Jessica says:

    Ha! Too funny! I love my Microplane and definitely don’t think its a disappointment not to use it in the garage! :-P

  7. Tanvi says:

    You know what I am a mechanical engineer by education.We used to work on a lot of machines & equipments in college but I was so scared of them..I dont even know how I became one.Maybe an accidental engineer.The article was great and funny too.Some people are unusually humble I feel :)

Leave a Reply

