Saving dough

There’s a great round-up of money saving tips that I found here. Simple Bites links to a dozen or so other sites, who all link back to each other, so you can start just about anywhere.

(Saving dough. Get it? I crack myself up … ) I kinda use the dollar-cost-averaging approach. Instead of making a hard-core plan, I just meander my way through town, rarely making the grocery store the primary destination of my trip, but instead popping into the store that’s on my way back from wherever. That way I’m hitting several different stores each week, without adding any time to the process because they’re integrated into other missions. My reasoning is, each store has a handful of things that they sell cheaper than anyone else, so I can grab those things when I’m there.

For instance, I would never go to Rancho Liborio for anything other than produce or meat. But their produce is amazing. Rancho Liborio is where these pictures came from. And these. It’s the home of the $1.99 pineapple, never on sale but always the cheapest in town.

And this week: two pounds of limes for 99¢. Comes out to around a dozen or so, while everyone else is offering three for a dollar, maybe four.

This pile: 67¢. Crazy. Of course, now we have to have margaritas every night until we use ‘em up. Tough job, but someone’s gotta do it.

This entry was posted in Colorado, economy, photography, tequila. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Saving dough

  1. Lea Ann says:

    Where is Rancho Liborio?

    • There are 3-4 on the north side of Denver, at least one along 36 towards Boulder, and one in Aurora.

      I’m learning restaurant Spanglish by shopping there. Did you know, key limes are known down south as Mexican limes?

      • Lea Ann says:

        The Aurora one is probably best for me, I’ll have to make a trip. Maybe they really are Mexican limes and we stole them and renamed them??

  2. Good strategy.

    I actually save dough to save dough… ha! I make a quadruple batch and freeze it. That way I’m not tempted to buy the pre-made dough ball in the deli. :)

    • Same here! But I should have pointed out, the dough in the pic is masa, corn flour for tamales. Might be a good deal for some, who will never use a whole bag of corn flour before it goes stale. Cheers!

  3. I shop at the middle-eastern store for three bunches of cilantro for a dollar!

    • Once, only once, I saw cilantro for a quarter a bunch. Smallish bunches, though. Usually 79¢-99¢ a bunch at grocery stores, but two for 99¢ at the Hispanic shops and at Sunflower Market, the local competition to Whole Foods.

      Anyone else remember 25¢ a gallon gas?

      But it is interesting that there are so many items that are guaranteed to be cheaper at Store X, and others guaranteed to cost less at Store Y, and it only takes a little bit of mental elbow grease (?) to split up the shopping accordingly. Cheers!

  4. Faith says:

    That pile of limes for $.67?! Definitely a steal!

  5. Mary says:

    No doubt you’ve found a true bargain. I find most of mine at the Chinese market where scallions, garlic, cilantro and mangos are sold at next to no cost. Thanks for the link. I’m off to follow it. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  6. $1.99 for a pineapple?! I’m sooo jealous. The cheapest I can find it around here – in season – is $3.99.

  7. Foodycat says:

    2lb of limes? That is amazing! You never get them that cheap in London!

Leave a Reply

