The State of Dessert

From the January New Yorker.

NOTES OF A GASTRONOME

Sweet Revolution
The power of the pastry chef.
by Adam Gopnik

Listen to the podcast at NewYorker.com here.

Or download it at iTunes here.

Story here.

 

This entry was posted in dessert, web links. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The State of Dessert

  1. Faith says:

    Sounds pretty interesting, I’m bookmarking the story to read later this afternoon!

  2. I listened to the podcast; I felt insanely jealous for a second of the man who had a meal at El Bulli, even if the particular dish he describes-wild strawberries on wild hare broth-did not particularly make me want to jump on a plane to Spain right this minute. Anyway, I am wondering if food prepared by these obviously high IQed Chefs is not getting lost in cerebral meanderings. I mean, most folks are simple and like what they grew up eating. Wild strawberries to me is the ones we picked in the garden of our house in France. Sweet and precious little things. I thought the discussion on blending the distinction between sweet and savory very interesting. Come to think of it, it was invented by the Persians, several centuries ago.

    • I agree. Just based on my own personal experience, people prefer simple desserts to which they feel connected. For me, it’s apple pie and peanut butter cookies. Maybe it’s that elaborate desserts create an unrealistic expectation?

  3. Nisha Julca says:

    Thanks for the post, I even learned something from it. Really good content on this website. Always looking forward to new article.

  4. Can I just say what a relief to find someone who categorically knows what they’re talking about on the internet. You especially know how to bring an issue to light and make it amazing. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  5. Hi! I’m sorry to leave this message here but did not see
    how to contact you via email. You won one of the copies of Michael
    Pollan’s Food Rules from my giveaway! Congrats! Need to get your
    mailing info. Could you please email me? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

