Blast from the past: Time for some pie

Now that the farmer’s markets are starting to fire up, thought it was time for this oldie but goodie. Fresh fruit is now available, which means that it’s pie season. If I had my way, National Pie Month would be any month with a vowel in it.

But it’s important to keep our terminology straight, so here’s a quick run-down of the difference between a cobbler, crisp, crumble, brown betty, and the numerous other terms for those vaguely pie-like desserts (that don’t need to be saved for dessert).

From What’s Cooking America, History and Legends: Cobbler – Crisps – Crumble – Brown Betty – Buckle – Grunts –
Slumps – Bird’s Nest Pudding – Sonker -Pandowdy

And the Mother of All Cobblers.

This entry was posted in dessert, pie. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Blast from the past: Time for some pie

  1. I can’t resist a cobbler with juicy blackberries!

  2. bellini says:

    When I was at the farmers market I saw some delicious pies for sale. Nothing beats an in season pie!!!

  3. Lea Ann says:

    I grew up with pie and cobbler and that’s what I’m stickin with! 🙂

  4. Robin Sue says:

    Huh, I was wondering the difference between all those names. There are a few I have never heard of like sonker. Royal Jelly- too funny. I think Royal Jelly is probably more healthy since it is organic, where the Royal Wedding is inorganic, non-biodegradable, and a carcinogen, but very addictive;-)

  5. Faith says:

    So happy that pie season is upon us! Where I live strawberry season doesn’t start until mid- to late-June…but I can’t wait for that either!

  6. Mary says:

    There are few things more delicious than a strawberry pie made with sweet ripe berries. Your pie looks outstanding and that cobbler looks wonderful. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. Ahhh pie season, how I’ve missed you.

Leave a Reply

