Almost a legend

Dedicated to man’s best friends everywhere.

The Legend, by Randy Wayne White.

(Also published as This Dog is Legend in Out of the Noosphere, an Outside magazine collection.)

Molly the Wonder Dog

July 4, 1999 — July 7, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About SAO'

Dad to two amazing girls, husband to one.
This entry was posted in dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Almost a legend

  1. Beth says:

    So sorry – what a wonderful life she had, and a wonderful companion for your family. We are all better people for our treasured, furry family members………….great pictures.

  2. Lisa Funk says:

    Steve, I’m so sorry for your family’s loss; can’t imagine how hard it must be to lose Molly so soon after Zooey. From your posts it is obvious how much they both were loved and cherished, so they were very fortunate as well. Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories through pictures. My heart hurts for you.

  3. tasteofbeirut says:

    So sorry about your loss. I hope another creature will step into your life and ease the pain, all the best, Joumana

  4. Robin Sue says:

    Oh no, I am so sorry to see this as you have recently lost your other friend. May you find peace and comfort in the beautiful memories you all made together.

    • When Zo went in December, we realized that Molly could go any day now. Said that almost every day: “She’s looking good, but any day could be her last.” Funny, though, all of that preparation didn’t make it any easier.

  5. Faith says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss — I know from firsthand experience that it really is like losing a member of the family.

    • Thanks, Faith. In some ways, it’s worse than a family member. There’s this whole routine, the taking care of them part, that is disrupted by their loss. Because I don’t have to jump out of bed to let them out to go pee, or take them out one last time before hitting the sack, there’s this reminder that catches me off-guard. I miss standing out on the back porch looking at the stars while they do their business, that kind of thing.

      I guess the difference is that families just kinda happen, and you don’t really get to pick your parents or your brothers and sisters. But you picked your pets. (Sometimes they pick you!) There’s a conscious decision part of the equation, which makes it just a little bit different. Not worse or better or easier or harder to deal with. Just different.

  6. I’m so very sorry for your loss. For both of your dogs. Having gone through that same loss myself, I know the pain. I never understand people who don’t “get” the love and relationship families have with their dogs. But, it’s as close as any relationship there is. And for those who mistreat and abuse their dogs…. well, that’s something I’ll never understand & that I hope they one day endure themselves. My sincere condolences to you and your family.

  7. Steve, she was a beautiful girl! What an awful loss. I hope a new dog comes your way when you are ready.

  8. Lea Ann says:

    I love my dogs so much and still not over the loss of one of my little guys almost two years ago. I’m just so sorry.

    • Thanks.
      It’s been half a year since we lost Zo and two months since we lost Molly, and it still happens a couple of times a week: I go to bed swearing I forgot something, and then I realized that I didn’t let the dogs out one last time. Or, I can’t finish dinner and there’s a big hunk of meat on my plate, and I want to split it between the two of them.

Leave a comment