Second Best French Toast

Second best because I still like the baked version better, if only because clean-up is easier.

But we were using Rudi’s Sourdough, which is cut a little bit too thin for the baked version. So had to settle for the traditional griddle.

I think she liked it, though.

 

Grand Marnier French Toast

 

(Note: all measurements are SWAGs. No need to get extra measuring cups and spoons dirty on a weekend, yeah?)

Eggs: 1.5 per serving, rounded up so you don’t waste any
(in other words, 2 eggs)
Grand Marnier: 1 Tbs for ever 2 eggs
Milk: enough to thin out the egg mixture
Cinnamon and nutmeg: 1 metric dash per serving
Brown sugar: spoonful for every 2 eggs
Orange zest: a little bit, or maybe a little bit more than that

Standard accompaniments: mixed fruit, maple syrup, bacon, coffee

Directions: Seriously? It’s French toast. Basically, all I’m saying is, if you have some Grand Marnier in the house, try it on your French toast. On sourdough.

About SAO'

Dad to two amazing girls, husband to one.
This entry was posted in bacon, breakfast, brunch, eggs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Second Best French Toast

  1. Jeff says:

    Is tomorrow Sunday? Yes. Yes, it is. That is what I call karma.

    This is in my future…

  2. Gorgeous! I love a slosh of cointreau in my French toast!

Leave a comment